#TDEAppreciationWeek #ImLateFam

9487bca08453b5c7ad221c62a44947b3-1000x668x11

Black Hippy

The only music collective series I massively enjoyed tuning to, that has churned out a consistently good succession of tracks, is Kanye West’s G.O.O.D Music Fridays. The series resurfaced a few days ago (if I am to believe Kim Kardashian’s tweet) with Kanye’s lament on kin and friendship, ‘Real Friends’.

I had no idea that sometime in 2012, Top Dawg Entertainment, the label that manages powerhouse rap collective, Black Hippy – comprised of Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Ab-Soul, and ScHoolboy Q – released a week-long series of individual tracks for their fans.

I am bugging out because Kendrick’s cut, titled ‘Westside, Right On Time’ (feat. Young Jeezy) was performed in one of my all-time live performances of his – that’s why it felt too familiar when I heard the full version.

Right at the beginning.

Allow me to consume this.

***

Unrelated:

I want to throw this yet another interpolation, this time from soul trio KING’s ‘Hey’, which was sampled by Kendrick on ‘Chapter 6’, his shortest track on Section.80. Because why not.

Leave a Reply

