RAVE: Best New Finds

Thank goodness this hectic week is over.

Ta-ku – “Drive Slow, Homie Pt. III”

The third installment to the wildly popular playlist curated by electronic musician, Ta-ku, for HYPETRAK. It includes “90bpm summer headnodders, 70bpm soul jams, and 130bpm jersey heaters.”

How To Dress Well – “Words I Don’t Remember”

Tom Krell is back wreaking havoc on all of our feelings (damn those falsettos).

Teen Daze – “Tokyo Winter”

Teen Daze’s spectrum of music is so acute to one’s reflective state and is incredibly perceptive.

Ball Park Music – “She Only Loves Me When I’m There”

Justin Timberlake – “Suit & Tie (Two Inch Punch rework)”

I can’t anymore.

Doja Cat – “So High”

S-U-M-M-E-R.

RL Grime and What So Not – “Tell Me”

That wonky horns. THAT wonky horns.

Skrillex f/ Chance The Rapper – “Coast is Clear”

The best thing about this Skrillex’s debut album, Recess, is the wide range of sound it offers. Primarily, it’s dubstep (duh), but collaborations from several names including Diplo, The Ragga Twins, G-Dragon, CL (of K-Pop super group, 2NE1), Chance The Rapper, among others enhanced the quality and variety of this album, not just sonically, but in multiple aspects as well. Now, dubstep might not be for everybody, but Skrillex remains to be the face of this glitchy, serrated, and steep industrial genre. One that you cannot just ignore and pretend that does not exist.

SBTRKT – “Resolute”

SBTRKT has a new EP out called TRANSITIONS which you can stream on his SoundCloud page.

Banks – “Brain”

This girl hasn’t let me down yet. I doubt she will.

Childish Gambino – “What Kind of Love”

Donald Glover is my favorite nerd. And I meant ‘nerd’ as a term of respect, a compliment. His work as Childish Gambino is something I admire (despite everything), and I truly believe he is as good as a blues/ballad musician as he is as a hiphop artist.

And also, did I mention I loved when he was cast in Girls? Hope I see more of him in that show.

Throwing in some relatively old tracks that I discovered only recently (midnight favorites):

Bastille – “Of The Night”

Mokhov – “Midnight Love”

BONUS:

Up Dharma Down released five(!) songs that you can download for FREE on their website. Do check out the snazzy “New World”, the acoustic version of “Hiwaga”, two songs from previous campaign ads (Coca-Cola and McDonald’s) and my personal favorite among the bunch, their cover of Nirvana’s “Something In The Way.”

***

My SoundCloud page

Leave a Reply

