RAVE: Best Music Finds

Still from 2NE1’s “Come Back Home” music video

It’s been a really good kind of crazy since February started. January started slow for me, pretty uneventful but good. Last month, however, was a blast (understatement). I celebrated my 24th birthday in Clark, attended the first 7107 International Music Festival – thanks to Luis (of Maude –  a local band you should definitely check out). I had a very awesome birthday surprise and a lot of amazing things that deserve an entirely different post. Although the huge downside was that my uncle suffered from TIA, or commonly known as a mild stroke caused by his hypertension. He’s been discharged a few days ago and I’m pretty busy practicing my BSN degree (always handy) and be his nurse. Like I said, first two months of this year? Crazy.

Anyway, I’ve listened to a whole lot of music since then and discovered new acts/bands from 7107, as well as the Internet (of course). Here are some of my favorites:

tricot – “おちゃんせんすぅす”

A Japanese math rock band. These girls rock (pun intended and lazy writing). They have an album called “T H E”. Favorites: 初耳, art sick, and タラッタラッタ.

Up Dharma Down – “New World”

Like dancing on clouds.

ScHoolboy Q – “Break The Bank”

Applause for Top Dawg Entertainment for being the Internet-age Death Row Records. I’m too excited for Black Hippy’s release (simultaneously stoked for labelmate Kendrick Lamar’s album this year). Definitely a single material from Oxymoron. Mad respect.

Evian Christ – “Waterfall”

Assaulting, but strangely engaging. His most jagged and thumping work to date. I was not surprised when Kanye West signed him to G.O.O.D Music for production work, but hopefully as an artist as well. This guy’s got a great range of sound.

Posse – “Shut Up”

Not what I expected from a track that beckons you to shut your trap. The surprise is good.

Lykke Li – “Love Me Like I’m Not Made of Stone”

If the title doesn’t give you a hint, then you are made of…

Big K.R.I.T f/ Rick Ross – “New Agenda”

Man, I haven’t heard from Big K.R.I.T since Live From The Underground. With a new album on the way, this track with the Teflon Don looks like it’s worth the wait.

Movement – “Like Lust”

I’ve noticed a pattern in Movement’s releases. But I’m not complaining. This is body music.

Tycho – “Dye”

Discovered them yesterday and again I wonder, “Where have you been all my life?”

Real Estate – “Crime”

All I can say is, I’ve fallen asleep listening to this track (and the rest of the album) for two nights in a row. It’s definitely not out of boredom, but how this amazing album conveys a deep sense of something that is inexplicable, only thing I know is that it’s stunningly beautiful.

2NE1 – “Come Back Home”

I can’t even verbalize well enough how ecstatic I was when I downloaded 2NE1’s new album, Crush. These girls are unstoppable. This is one of the standout tracks and it’s not hard to see why. The infusion of pop and reggae, plus that bass drop – too much to handle.

Arctic Monkeys – “Arabella”

My death certificate reads, “Cause of death: Alex Turner.”

Kid Ink – “Tattoo Of My Name”

One of my favorite discoveries from 7107. This guy can definitely put on a show. His hooks are memorable and the guy’s got great flow.

***

Albums to download:

  • ScHoolboy Q – Oxymoron
  • Cibo Matto – Hotel Valentine
  • Pharrell Williams – G I R L
  • St. Vincent – St. Vincent
  • Tycho – Awake
  • 2NE1 – Crush
  • Real Estate – Atlas
  • Kid Ink – My Own Lane
Leave a Reply

