Love: A Liquidation Sale, Everything Must Go

Five words for sale.

hindsight (noun)

It is hard to talk about love. Love, which dragged me into bottomless pits and bouts of sadness of epic proportions. Love, which broke my heart in two and sucked my oxygen until my brain went blank. Love, which made me dramatic and semi-poetic and a romantic. Love, from which a noun evolved into a verb when you’d rather it stays a word, not a feeling. A feeling that takes over your body and plunders it and leaves it with howls and ashes and darkness. 

– understanding of a situation or event only after it has happened or developed: with hindsight, I should never have gone.

too (adverb)

“I love you.” 

 “I love you too.”

– also, as well, in addition, additionally, into the bargain, besides, furthermore, moreover, yet, on top of that, to boot; plus, again, over and above.

made (verb)

It was raining that night and I went anyway. I have a feeling and I needed to name that feeling. I was scared to confirm what it was, scared to find out my suspicions are indeed true, scared to admit. So I went to that place where I first saw your face. You began to sing and I cried because then I knew.

You made me love you

I didn’t want to do it

I didn’t want to do it

You made me want you

And all the time you knew it.

I guess you always knew it.

– [ no obj. ] Nautical (of the tide) begin to flow or ebb.

breathe (verb)

When I was little, I wanted to grow up and be an adult. And then suddenly I was paying for bills and falling in love. I abandoned dreaming and started living. I lost count of how many nights I sat in my bed and wept alone. There were simply no manuals on how to keep your heart from breaking or how to keep on living. And against everything you believed that was true, you find out how the world works. From the radio.

This is how it works

You’re young until you’re not

You love until you don’t

You try until you can’t

You laugh until you cry

You cry until you laugh

And everyone must breathe

Until their dying breath

– be alive; remain living: at least I’m still breathing.

rain (noun)

Fact: People fall in love all the time. 

Another fact: Not all of them will be caught. 

– [ in sing. ] a large or overwhelming quantity of things that fall or descend: he fell under the rain of blows

500

Leave a Reply

