RAVE: Noel Gallagher’s Epic Year-End Gripe (ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS AND HONEST IN MY OPINION) and some personal afterthoughts

Note that I typed “in my opinion” because it is. There are so many things about this Rolling Stone uncensored (bring on the fucks) interview that I love and that’s mostly because Noel Gallagher and I share the same opinion about many things. Like this year has been shitty, although in the end I’d say it was full of lessons as well, but that’s beside the point.

I tweeted before, when Arcade Fire’s Reflektor came out, that I’d rather spend my 90 minutes doing something else, because really, I did not find the whole thing extremely grappling. I wouldn’t say it was really bad, but the whole time constraint and my attentiveness warrant something that’s a little more worthy, preference-wise.

20131206-021514.jpg

It’s all about preferences, I think.

And that bit about the “super not mandatory” dress code, which I thought was some fancy gimmickry, Gallagher also drove the point home. Nobody’s gonna talk about how the gig, the music, the show itself was, only how outrageous the people were dressed like. So frickin’ true.

But most especially, I appreciate the part when he talked about Miley Cyrus. After everything that’s been said and done, being and doing good will always remain to be better than outrageous. “Because anyone can be outrageous.”

I never really had an opinion about Noel Gallagher nor his brother nor Oasis nor their post-Oasis work, because I’m never really ‘wised’ in any of that, but one thing I am certain of reading all that time was what kind of a dick these brothers are. I don’t know, is it because every sentence is punctuated with an expletive? Or that everything said is so brazen and harsh-sounding? I’ve always tried to humanize famous people because in my opinion, putting them to godlike status makes us forget sometimes that these people are exactly that, people. To equate ‘godlike’ to ‘saintly’ is the biggest mistake anyone can make and that is a fact that, unfortunately, not everyone has grasped yet. Truth is, gods are gods because they can do whatever they like.

Yeah, role models and all. But in the end, one’s self is responsible for his or her actions. You cannot blame your favorite rapper for you shooting people because rap ‘glamorizes’ the ‘thug life’. Nobody made you do anything.

I guess my point is, you may or may not agree with who people chose to brand with being a douchebag, I get that. But resorting to that reason because someone says something that he likes or dislikes? That’s on them. Not on you. Let them be a douche however they like.

As for me, I’ve always uphold expressing my OWN opinion and vouching for its accuracy within my OWN standards. Since my authority lies within and upon MYSELF, I can say whatever I like and mean that it is what I think that is exclusively good or bad, based on MY preferences. And I also have Tina Fey to thank for that.

“It is an impressively arrogant move to conclude that just because you don’t like something, it is empirically not good. I don’t like Chinese food, but I don’t write articles trying to prove it doesn’t exist.”

Excerpt From:
Tina Fey. “Bossypants.”

So cheers to people who say it like it is, both because it makes a point and is as honest as it can be. Whether it’s because they are preferable or not, is up to anyone’s debate. Though I doubt anyone would care much.

Like say, me not liking the Arcade Fire album. Keyword: ME.

P.S. I really don’t like talking about this matter so I hope that in the future, I won’t have to bring it up again.

Leave a Reply

