MIXTAPE: Knives & Butterflies (For Writing)

KNIVES cover

Tracklist

  1. (Hymn For) The Greatest Generation – Caspian
  2. Don’t Stay Here – Frames
  3. Reset # 1 – Clarence Garcia
  4. Ivered Ago – Earthmover
  5. Six Days At The Bottom Of The Ocean – Explosions In The Sky
  6. Ekki Mukk – Sigur Ros
  7. Holding Your Absence – Hammock
  8. They Move On Tracks Of Never-Ending Light – This Will Destroy You
  9. I Drive – Cliff Martinez
  10. Ouroboros – Oneohtrix Point Never
  11. Forgiveness – spazzkid
  12. I Miss You More – Ta-Ku f/ Atu
  13. Cloud – Flamingosis
  14. Michael’s Cloak (callonit) – similarobjects
  15. Meds – SWVZY
  16. An Ending (Ascent) – Brian Eno

BUTTERFLIES cover

Tracklist

  1. Entombed – Deftones
  2. What You Want – Bombay Bicycle Club
  3. The Eraser – Thom Yorke
  4. Goodbye – toe f/ Toki Asako
  5. This Is The Last Time – The National
  6. White Mystery – Minus the Bear
  7. Stay, So Far Away, So Close – U2
  8. Sparks – Coldplay
  9. Slow Dancing In The Burning Room – John Mayer
  10. Bloodstream – Stateless
  11. Prototype – OutKast
  12. Love More – Sharon Van Etten
  13. Come As You Are (Nirvana cover) – Yuna
  14. Juicy (Notorious B.I.G cover) – Emily Wells
  15. One Of Those Summer Days – Rhye
  16. Closer – Goapele
  17. Diggin’ On You – Iman Europe f/ starRo
  18. Two People – Flamingosis

Back with a double mixtape for everyone! Now, I do a fair bit of writing now that I have more time in my hands. I do more reading nowadays and whenever I get tired, I go on the Internet to look for new (and old) music, mostly from my SoundCloud feed (fantastic!). I rarely write without listening to music. I actually listen to anything that lets my brain hock up some ideas. Mostly I start with a lot of instrumentals: post-rock and electronica. Then I proceed listening to rock and mostly keys and strings. When I get the brain juices flowing, I mellow down with lo-fi, ambient, and anything calming. Same with when I edit and finished writing, which is what I call my phantom-cigarette phase. I used to smoke occasionally before, and I remember the calm it gives me when I’m strung out. Music does that for me right now.

The mixtape is called Knives & Butterflies. It’s divided into two: Butterflies include songs with vocals. I listen to it when I already know what to write and just mentally organizing my thoughts. I get additional ideas from the general vibe of these songs. Whether it’s personal or professional writing, I get down on it using these. Knives are all instrumental songs. When my head’s all blank, I draw inspiration from the soundscapes. It’s important to listen to it in order (see tracklist) to get the perfect vibe. I swear I rarely get my writing done if I don’t have my iPod. I still meet people who don’t listen to music as much, mostly because they don’t know where to start. Same goes for those wanted to compile a playlist they want to use and don’t know which songs to listen to. So here.

Special thanks to local artists who gave me permission to include their songs in Knives: Earthmover, Jorge Wieneke (similarobjects), Mark Redito (spazzkid), and Clarence Garcia (tide/edit).

LINKS:

  • Knives – download via Dropbox
  • Butterflies – download via Dropbox
Leave a Reply

