The Mute and the Blind

Once upon a time,
I fell in love.
It felt as basic as air in my lungs,
as certain as the sun in the horizon,
the moon in the blanket of black.
I fell in love in silence.
Through stolen glances,
through numbered minutes,
Despite the invaluable nature of my existence
in your rainbow-painted sky.
I fell in love.
A love unseen.
A love I have written in stone,
a love you have read only in sand.
A great, unrequited love,
you and I will never have.
Pardon me, to start this tragedy with fallacy.
“Once upon a time,” it seems,
would not end happily.
It doesn’t happen,
will never happen,
unless I make you,
history.

Fin

Leave a Reply

